What do you mean by patch?

Hi,

Sorry for this dummy question, but I’m totally new to music production and synths, but what is a patch? I see people sharing patches on the Internet, but I have no idea what they are or how to use them.

A preset for a synth is often called a patch.

Thanks. So, are preset and patch interchangeable words in Vital?

Kind of.

People use both terms. For me a preset is more of a preexisting setting, as the name suggests, while a patch consists of all the settings of a synth to later recall.

the LFOs on Vital have presets, not LFO patches. But if you save a sound (state) that you made in vital, I would call that a patch :slight_smile: if you then went on and shared it with the world it would again become a preset I guess.

This is funny, and probably nitpicking.

Modular Synths usually have patch cables to route CV and Audio…

So in short, call it preset.

1 Like

Hahaha… a bit confusing, but you helped a lot. Thanks!

1 Like

Yea, funny how when you load a preset, modify it and then save it, it becomes a patch :slight_smile:

1 Like

not only in Vital but in the synth world in general
historical reason:
in the days back, aka 60s, you had modular synthesizers
i.e.:a synthesizer was a collection of individual modules
those were connected with…you guess it: patch cables !
a collection of patch-cable-connected moduels represented a sound - a preset

2 Likes

technically, a preset shouldn’t be called ‘a patch’. I truly have no idea why people started to call ‘presets’ ‘patches’. A patch really means to ‘(re-)attach’. So in the ‘modular’ world patching was used the right way. Patch two elements by means of cables (etc).

Now, i can see why a ‘patched’ modular synth = a state that can be called a ‘preset’. The modular synth is all set-up for use with ‘a patched’ setting. I guess it was called a patched modular synth = a patch = a preset.

These days i would call ‘a preset’ a preset. Not a patch.

1 Like