Waveform change with pitch, preset reproduce

Hi all,

I am relatively new at Vital. I would like to reproduce this wonderful sound of old tube theremin, sound which rapidly changes its waveform with pitch, from buzzy low tones to warm higher tones, from shape to almost round. Do you have any idea how this could be done? I also tried Micromusic.tech to reproduce harmonic content and loaded this record, but it was not similar at all, even in one octave. Is somebody here able to help me to reproduce this beautiful sound? Later I would like to use it like a preset with my instrument.

Thank you very much
Martin

Link for played scale:
(Minute 20:30) https://youtu.be/mrBZ8FJyutw?si=BcOxiMFO8o7d2NsB

I tried this just for the fun of it. It’s a problem that Vital tends to be a bit clickey with monophonic clean sounds, I believe it comes from the envelope modulation transitioning from release back to attack phase when the notes don’t overlap.

Edit: also, there’s no way I know of to stop random LFOs from retriggering on noteon event, which can also cause clicks when using those to humansize your patch.

I believe for this kind of a sound design work Phase Plant would serve you better.

1 Like

Okay I got the clicking under control, I think it was about some modulation reacting to note input that wasn’t smoothed by glide setting, dunno really. So I made an experiment and played some random notes for ya.Theremin is such an overhyped but still interesting thing. The recording you shared transforms from resembling a bowed instrument at the lo registers through some vocal qualities to a nearly pure sine. So I tried to make something like that.

1 Like