A question about multiple envelopes/lfos applied to 1 item

I am new to vital, and hope this isn’t a redundant question.

I have been experimenting with applying multiple envelopes (or lfo’s) to an oscillator’s waveframe element. As far as I can tell, only the envelope that is selected is actually affecting it, regardless of the number applied. Is this the expected behaviour? Does it make sense to apply multiple envelopes - and if they affect (in this case) the position sequentially is order important or even controllable?

Thanks in advance,
Frank

Hi @frank.alviani

AFIK, multiple modulations on a wavetable position work ok.

Here’s a quick patch to illustrate (using 2 LFOS as an example):

TTWT Stutter.vital (251.1 KB)

• LFO2 is ramp, which moves through the wavetable
  • LFO1 is triangle, running faster than LFO1

I’ve assigned Macro 1 (Stutter) to the LFO1 amount, so if you hold a note with the Macro 1 at 0, it plays clearly, if you increase macro 1 you add a stutter effect (LFO1 comes into play).

I’m pretty sure that the order in which I assigned the LFOs doesn’t matter.

I hope that’s helpful.

EDIT: another example, but with 2 envelopes (again controlled via macros) TTWT Envelope Battle.vital (251.3 KB)

Thanks for the explanation. Your first example with the LFOs demonstrates their compound action. I played with the envelope battle preset as well, but it seems to show that only envelope 2 really affects the wavetable position; playing with macro2 does change the modulation amount for 3, but that has no effect on the position in the wavetable. I don’t think this is completely surprising, and not something that’s likely to be a problem for me.

Multiple envelopes - not really ; multiple LFOs - useful.

Frank

The envelope patch was to illustrate that (when both macros are at max) the two differently shaped envelopes are cancelling each other out (deliberately, here)
At the extremes (0 & 1, 1 & 0) you get only one envelope modulating the wavetable.